Fixing a Digitech QM1323 multimeter with an intermittent fault

My trusty Digitech QM1323 multimeter hasn’t been so reliable recently. It has been flaky with its readings, and I thought it might be faulty connections where the leads plug into the multimeter.  Resistance and voltage readings seemed like they only worked sometimes, and I was always pushing or turning the leads where they plugged in.

20150714_124851

Turns out it was very simple to fix once I opened it up.  The main lead terminals had snapped off from the board, not enough solder on them.  I flowed plenty of solder on the joints, held in the right spot, and now my multimeter is working perfectly.

20150714_123005

Leave a Reply

